Awards and Honours

Scientists of the Future Promotion Award 2005 presented by the Leibniz Association goes to HPI

Friday, 18. November 2005

Dr. Anneke Funk (27) was the recipient of the Leibniz-scientists of the future award in 2005. Dr. Funk received this outstanding award at a ceremony commemorating the 11th anniversary of the Leibniz association in Bonn. Anneke Funk wrote her doctorate between 2002 and 2004 at HPI in the project group under direction of Dr. med Hüseyin Sirma in the department for general virology – the department of biology at the technical University of Darmstadt conferred her work "The identification and functional modulation of essential cellular components for the propagation of Hepatitis B Viruses" the rating "outstanding".

HPI-Scientist Named Research Leader On The 2005 "Scientific American 50"

Friday, 18. November 2005

Hamburg, November 18, 2005 - Prof. Joachim Hauber of the Heinrich-Pette-Institute for Experimental Virology and Immunology at the University Hamburg (HPI) has been named by SCIENTIFIC AMERICAN magazine as a Research Leader within the "2005 Scientific American 50" - the magazine's prestigious annual award recognizing outstanding acts of leadership in science and technology, business and policy from the past year.